Saturday, December 3, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1593























Marie-Louise Bion, Swiss

The Exact Moment Katie Decided There'd Be No Second Date, 1895

Oil on canvas

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1592












Erik Henningsen, Danish

"Don't Worry, Ma'am.  I Will Personally See That Your Husband Gets the Very Best Medical Treatment a Poor Rural Area in the Late 19th Century Has to Offer," 1895

Oil on canvas

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1591








Arnold Böcklin, Swiss

Odysseus Escaping While Cyclops Busy With His CrossFit Workout, 1896

Oil and tempera on panel

Monday, November 28, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1590























Manuel Cusí i Ferret, Catalan

Pentecostal Housewife Attempting to Heal Her Broken Stove, 1896

Oil on canvas

Sunday, November 27, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1589

















Michael Ancher, Danish

"Honey, the Police Are Here.  Can You Describe the Tuna That Did This to You?," 1896

Oil on canvas

Thursday, November 24, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1588














Jean Beraud, French

Charlotte, Scoring Big Time at Macy's Black Friday Snare Drum Sale, 1879

Oil on panel

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1587













Frederic Remington, American

"You Know, Soaring Eagle, I'm Starting to Think the Traditional Turkey Might Have Been the Easier Way To Go," 1890

Oil on canvas

Tuesday, November 22, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1586









Jean Leon Gerome Ferris, American

"Your People are Welcome to Keep the Leftovers.  And By Leftovers, I Mean South Dakota and New Mexico," 1915

Oil on canvas

Monday, November 21, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1585

















Theodore Robinson, American

"My Dearest Maude, 

I Only Left But Hours Ago, and Yet I Miss You Terribly.  May the Days Fly By Until You're in My Arms Again.

All My Love, 

Charles  

P.S. I Think Your Cat Might Be Dead," 1895

Oil on canvas

Sunday, November 20, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1584























Oscar Pereira da Silva, Brazilian

Olivia, About to Find Out That Fingers Look a Lot Like Carrots, 1895

Oil on canvas

Thursday, November 17, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1583











Giovanni Segantini, Italian

The Hills Are Alive With the Sound of Uncontrollable Retching, 1893

Oil on canvas

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1582























Jean-Louis Forain, French

"Low-Wire Wanda," Tightrope Walker With a Fear of Heights, 1885

Oil on canvas

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1581













Franz Georg Kleber, Austrian

Russian Mail-Order Bride, Still in the Bubble Wrap, 1895

Oil on canvas

Monday, November 14, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1580










Peder Severin Kroyer, Norwegian-Danish

The 1892 National Convention of the American Sausage Party, 1895

Oil on canvas

Sunday, November 13, 2016

MASTERPIECE #1579














Hermann Bek-Gran, German

Family in Dusseldorf Taking the Mannequin Challenge, 1895

Oil on canvas